Favorite Black and Whites

In talking with Leanne Cole today, I mentioned that black and white photography has always fascinated me, but I haven’t done any black and white work since my Brownie-with-built-in-flash days. Back then, black and white film was the most popular option a photographer had available to him. Of course, that soon changed in my lifetime, but by then, I was more interested in writing than photography, so I didn’t do much picture-taking again until I moved to Vermont, where I married and produced two children.

Then, there was an abundance of photo opportunities once again, but color was all the rage.

So, for this photo-posting of black and whites today, I’ve reached into the past, the 1960s, to be more precise. It’s wonderful how good black and whites from the “olden days” print today within the modern technology we have available on the Internet.

002

Even at full size, this old beauty looks great! It’s the farmhouse in which I grew up from the age of seven, or so…

The second picture is of the trees in the barnyard (the yard in front of the barn, which it was referred to then, for those youngsters of you not familiar with the farm), taken the same day. Next is the room in which I was a youngster; then the travel trailer we used when my farmer parents took Summer vacations. One of my two younger sisters is the following picture; then the family band. Lastly, are my pal, Mick, whom I adopted from a Columbus animal shelter, and a scene from The Ohio State University, where I worked in the sixties.

If I can learn how to e-mail Leanne some material, you may see one of these in the black and white picture challenge!

Leave a Reply

