Is It A Catbird?

351

This is posted in particular in response to comments and an inquiry I made at BirdNation’s blog earlier today. BirdNation wrote about Gray Catbirds, her favorite bird, and I thought I might have snapped a Gray Catbird in this fellow, but I wasn’t certain, so I invited BirdNation to have a look…

It seems to me his body is longer than BirdNation’s picture of a Gray Catbird, but angles in tree branches are deceiving. However, he certainly is gray!

This was taken in the Summer of 2015.

+++++
Credit:
Photo from the personal and copyrighted collection of Barbara Anne Helberg

2 responses to “Is It A Catbird?

  1. I’m going to agree with Gray Catbird. It seems like his neck is stretched out from that angle, so he’s a little deceiving-looking. He definitely has the black cap, and I’m sure if the branch wasn’t blocking his rump you would see his rusty feathers. Thanks for subscribing to my blog! I’m looking forward to more bird conversations in the future :-).

    Liked by 1 person

    • You know when I looked really close at my picture and blew it up on my computer screen, I could just barely detect a small line of the patch of rusty feathers on his underside. And with your opinion added, I’m certain he’s our bird!
      My fav is the Northern Flicker; that’s why I liked your snap of one so much. I also love photographing the Red-bellied Woodpecker when he’s at work. These two are great tree hole nesters to observe and snap.
      Great to converse with you — thanks — and, yes, let’s do more of it! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

